Against obedience

We collect impulses together and engage in the possibilities of disobedience.

“Let us go back to a pre-logical stage!” (Ola Vasiljeva).

From February 27 to April 24, 2016, Kunstverein Munich presented the exhibition “You’ve got beautiful stairs, you know” by Ola Vasiljeva. A major inspiration for the artist was Erich Fromm’s essay “About disobedience”. It states: “Human history began with an act of disobedience, and it is not entirely unlikely it will end with an act of obedience as well.”

In the first Salon of the Art of Living in 2016, we looked at the exhibition by Ola Vasiljeva from the viewpoint of disobedience. Because it quite consistently contradicts established expectations towards art. For example, the expectation that a work of art must have an intellectually understandable meaning. Instead, Ola Vasiljeva asks the viewer to go back to a pre-logical stage. To let things speak for themselves. To decipher their vibrations. To give the other, the abstract, the surreal and the symbolic a space to unfold in.

The exhibition “You’ve got beautiful stairs, you know” served to stimulate and inspire towards considering the possibility of disobedience in one’s own lives. Disobeying constraints, thinking routines, rules of social behavior, emotional and behavioral patterns, etc. What consequences would that have:

Politically? Socially? Economically? Interpersonally? Existentially?

Together we collected impulses and immersed ourselves in the exhibition and thereby, in the possibilities of disobedience. A lively and inspiring dialogue emerged between artist, speakers and guests.

Our speakers:
Chris Fitzpatrick, director of the Kunstverein Munich
Prof. Dr. Wendelin Küpers, Karlshochschule, Karlsruhe

What inspires and moves me.

Learn more

Who we are and what drives us.

Learn more

TIM – Trust In Myself. Our vision is a world
in which every adolescent feels: “I am valuable!”

Learn more

Let us know if you are interested in our offerings or have any questions, we look forward to your message.

Wider den Gehorsam

Gemeinsam sammeln wir Impulse und lassen uns auf die Möglichkeiten des Ungehorsams ein.

„Lasst uns in ein prälogisches Stadium zurückkehren!“ (Ola Vasiljeva)

Der Kunstverein München präsentierte vom 27. Februar bis zum 24. April 2016 die Ausstellung “You’ve got beautiful stairs, you know” von Ola Vasiljeva. Eine wesentliche Inspiration für die Künstlerin war der Essay „Über den Ungehorsam“ von Erich Fromm. Darin heißt es: „Die Menschheitsgeschichte begann mit einem Akt des Ungehorsams, und es ist nicht unwahrscheinlich, dass sie mit einem Akt des Gehorsams ihr Ende finden wird.“

Im ersten Salon zur Lebenskunst 2016 betrachteten wir die Ausstellung von Ola Vasiljeva unter dem Aspekt des Ungehorsams. Denn sie widerspricht verfestigten Erwartungshaltungen gegenüber der Kunst ganz konsequent. Zum Beispiel der Erwartung, dass ein Kunstwerk eine intellektuell verstehbare Bedeutung haben muss. Stattdessen fordert Ola Vasiljeva die Betrachter auf, in ein ‚prälogisches Stadium‘ zurückzukehren. Die Dinge für sich selbst sprechen zu lassen. Ihre Schwingungen zu entziffern. Dem Anderen, Abstrakten, Surrealen und Symbolischen Entfaltungsraum zu geben.

Die Ausstellung “You’ve got beautiful stairs, you know” diente uns als Anregung und Inspiration, über die Möglichkeit des Ungehorsams in unserem eigenen Leben nachzudenken. Ungehorsam gegenüber Sachzwängen, Denkroutinen, sozialen Spielregeln, Gefühls- und Verhaltensmustern etc. Welche Konsequenzen würde das haben:

Politisch? Gesellschaftlich? Ökonomisch? Zwischenmenschlich? Existenziell?

Gemeinsam sammelten wir Impulse und ließen uns ein – auf die Ausstellung und damit auf Möglichkeiten des Ungehorsams. Zwischen Künstlern, Referenten und Gästen entstand ein lebendiger und inspirierender Dialog.

Unsere Referenten:
Chris Fitzpatrick, Direktor des Kunstvereins München
Prof. Dr. Wendelin Küpers, Karlshochschule, Karlsruhe

Was mich begeistert und bewegt.

Mehr erfahren

Wer wir sind und was uns antreibt.

Mehr erfahren

TIM – Trust In Myself. Unsere Vision ist eine Welt,
in der jeder Jugendliche fühlt: „Ich bin wertvoll!“

Mehr erfahren

Wenn Sie an unserem Angebot interessiert sind oder Fragen haben, freuen wir uns über Ihre Nachricht.